top of page

Back 2 Basics

The memory trip I am taking to write this is a journey within itself. It was no ordinary trip and therefore cannot be described by cliché terms like amazing, breath-taking or beautiful. These adjectives do not do justice to the trip’s true colours.

Such an endeavour will leave an impact on any adult’s life, no matter what his/her background is. For a youth that is still blooming in life, this experience is close to essential. It allows an individual not only to learn about nature but also to discover himself/herself. Often our busy life rips us of precious time… time spent on our interests, hobbies and passions. We can forget the value of time living such lives. Although devoting two weeks to camping in a village in Romania, studying animals, experiencing wildlife and farm communities may seem fruitless, I have never felt more at peace with myself. Sitting in my tent with the door wide open feeling the light breeze of fresh air, watching the buzzards fly by and listening to the crickets in an endless hum, brought peacefulness. I found simple pleasures by simply walking up hills in the sunny mornings, alongside never ending fields boasting with all kinds of hues of green. Hundreds of butterflies fluttering around you with indescribable wing patterns leave you in awe. The areas we went to, Crit and Daia, were absolutely teeming with life. Everywhere you looked, in every corner, under every rock, in every tree crack – life was beaming! Being surrounded by nature to that extent was an entirely new feeling which I personally felt, was very humbling.

Once home I dearly missed the place, the scientists and the translators that accompanied us. They are truly amazing people. Although on my island I am not surrounded by such luscious and dense nature anymore, I have learnt to appreciate and understand my local flora and fauna. I am also taking more interest in acquiring more knowledge about it. When I returned to Malta, I decided to go for walks at night so I could spot bats. I started camping in places away from towns and roads. I would have never considered doing these things prior to visiting Romania.

I hope this trip was the start of a long list of other adventures that I shall take in my life… to see more of nature in an undisturbed state and thriving in all its exuberance and to experience it less in a deprived state caused by human populace.


Recent Posts
bottom of page